Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) make a crucial contribution for the learning, development and care of children from 3 to 5 years old at this school. It is about developing key learning skills such as listening, speaking, concentrating, persistence and learning to work and co-operate with others. These early years help your child get ready for school and prepare them for their future learning and life successes.

At South Ascot Village School, we believe that early childhood is a time of play, and through play we discover the excitement of learning, the rewards of achieving and acquiring our life-long skills. We provide children with a rich variety of teaching and learning experiences that are appropriate to their needs. However, we acknowledge the link between this and the curriculum at Key Stage One. Here we set out how we take account of children's Early Years educational experience and provide continuity with, and progression towards, the stage which follows.

Nurseries, pre-schools, reception classes and child-minders registered to deliver the EYFS must follow a legal document called the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework. This sets the standards that schools must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe.

The Revised EYFS is made up of seven areas of Learning and Development. All areas of Learning and Development are underpinned by the principles of the EYFS. These areas of Learning and Development are inter-connected and although each is equally important, three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning.

The three 'prime' areas are seen as the essential 'building blocks' for securing these positive outcomes for young children in later life. Once these are secured, children are equipped with the tools to make good progress within other areas of their learning.

3 Prime areas: 

Communication and language
  • Listening and attention

  • Understanding 

  • Speaking

Physical development 
  • Moving and handling 

  • Health and selfcare

Personal, social and emotional development Making relationships
  • Self-confidence and self-awareness

  • Managing feelings and behaviour 

4 Specific areas:

  • Reading

  • Writing 

  • Numbers
  • Space, Shape and Measures
Understanding the world
  • People and Communities
  • The World
  • Technology 
Expressive arts and design
  • Media and Materials
  • Imagination